This department was established in the 1940s as a combined department of Dermatology, Dermato Venereology & Leprosy. The departments later separated into Dermatology and Venereology in 1956 and recombined in 2006. After AIIMS, New Delhi this is the first department to offer post graduate courses in Dermatology ( DD in 1964/ MD in 1967).

Recently with combined efforts of HOD & other faculty the department has acquired equipment like a FRACTIONAL CO2 LASER, CENTRIFUGE, RF CAUTERY MACHINE, IONTOPHORESIS, CHEMICAL PEELS and DERMABRADER machine.

As an integral part of postgraduate teaching & research programme there are many publications from the department which were published in various esteemed national and international journals. Multiple research projects are being done by the undergraduate students in the department under the guidance of HOD & other faculty.

Heads of Department

More Interesting Facts

 Medical School Year of Student                Year 4/5
Intresting Facts
  • Awesome Image

    Year established

  • Awesome Image

    PG SEATS PER YEAR (sanctioned) 5 Md/ 5 DD

  • Awesome Image

    Number of Faculty

  • Awesome Image

    Total PG degrees awarded

Current Faculty

S.No Name Designation
1 Dr.P. Guru Prasad, MD Professor Unit 1
2 Dr.T. Shanti, MD Professor Unit 2
3 Dr.D. Edukondala Rao, MD Associate Professor Unit 1
4 Dr.M.Parvathi, MD Associate Professor Unit 2
5 Dr. B.T.V.N.Raju,MD Asst.Professor Unit 1
6 Dr. K.S.Divya,MD Asst.Professor Unit 1
7 Dr. B.GayathriDevi,MD Asst.Professor Unit 1
8 Dr. Jahnavi,DDVL,DNB Asst.Professor Unit 1
9 Dr. B.Kinnera,MD Asst.Professor Unit 1
10 Dr. K.Sailaja,MD Asst.Professor Unit 2
11 Dr. PremSagar,MD Asst.Professor Unit 2
12 Dr. Kanthi,MD Asst.Professor Unit 2