The department started in 1924 in the first floor of the Rajah of Panagal building. The entire Department of Ophthalmology was shifted from King George Hospital to the current location ‐ Government Regional Eye Hospital in April 1990. The facility caters to the eye care needs of 5 North Andhra Pradesh coastal districts and adjoining states of Chattisgarh, MP and Orissa. The hospital covers 56,220 sq feet and is in an area of 5.78 acres. The regional eye hopsital is a referral hospital for all Ophthalmic services and consists of an outpatient department with 6 cubicles, an emergency department, laboratory facilities, pharmacy and specialty clinics such as cornea clinc, vitreo‐retinal services, glaucoma clinic, oculoplasty and squint correction, as well as corneal retrieval services. Over 53,000 patients were seen in 2022.

The hospital has 75 beds for inpatient management and an operation theatre with 8 full fledged cubicles. The “Kanti velugu” program helps the public with spectacle distribution and the “Avva,Tata” program for cataract surgeries. In addiiton Arogyasree and EHS facilities are available on site.

Teaching and training undergraduates is in 2 seminar halls with an E‐library. Faculty are actively involved in research, publications as

Heads of Department

More Interestig Facts

 Medical School Year of Student                       Year  4
Annual undegraduate medal in honor of 

Dr. Viswanarayana
Dr. P. Krishna Murthy 
Dr.M. Kalyana Babu

Intresting Facts
  • Awesome Image

    Year established

  • Awesome Image

    PG SEATS PER YEAR (sanctioned)

  • Awesome Image

    Number of Faculty

  • Awesome Image

    Total PG degrees awarded

List of Teaching Faculty

S.No. Name Designation
1 P.Viswamithra,MS(AMC1979batch) Professor
2 Prabhakar Sastry,MS Professor
3 Meenakshi,MS Professor
4 Jyothirmayee,MS Professor
5 M.Madhavi,MS Associate Professor
6 Manga Venkat,MS Associate Professor
7 A.Venkata Ramana,MS Associate Professor
8 RajeevKrishna,MS Assistant Professor
9 ShyamSundar,MS Assistant Professor
10 Manjula,MS Assistant Professor
11 Padmavathi,MS Assistant Professor
12 SuryaChandra,MS Assistant Professor
13 SheelaDeep,MS Assistant Professor
14 Sailaja,MS Assistant Professor
15 G.MohanaPreethi,MS Assistant Professor
16 T.VaniSree,MS Assistant Professor
17 P.ViswaBharathi,MS Assistant Professor
18 T.KalyaniMS Assistant Professor
19 Sowjanya,MS Assistant Professor
20 T.Kalyani,MS Senior Resident
21 Sowjanya,MS Senior Resident